
HSBC TravelOne Credit Card review
HSBC India · Mastercard · points Official sources Checked 30 Oct 2026
At a glance
- Annual fee
- ₹4,999
- Joining fee
- ₹4,999
- Fee waiver
- ₹8,00,000 a year
- Base return
- 1% base
- Point value
- ₹0.5 per point
- Domestic lounge
- 6 domestic airport lounge visits per year (official page; footnote conditions not seen)
- International lounge
- 4 international lounge visits per year (LoungeKey)
Estimated net value a year
| Profile | Net | % of spend |
|---|---|---|
| First card, light spender ₹15k a month | −₹3,403 | -1.9% |
| Metro salaried ₹60k a month | ₹1,361 | 0.2% |
| Family household ₹80k a month | ₹2,489 | 0.3% |
| Frequent flyer ₹1.5L a month | ₹25,280 | 1.4% |
| Online shopper ₹50k a month | ₹641 | 0.1% |
| Rent-heavy ₹90k a month | −₹3,367 | -0.3% |
Fee maths: The ₹4,999 annual fee is waived at ₹8,00,000 a year of eligible spend, about ₹66,700 a month. Of our 6 profiles, 1 clear it; on first card, light spender, metro salaried, family household, online shopper, rent-heavy you would pay the fee, which is 67% to 313% (₹1,596 to ₹7,488) of what those profiles earn before the fee. On our 6 profiles it nets from −₹3,403 (first card, light spender) to ₹25,280 (frequent flyer), equal to −1.9% to 1.4% of spend across the profiles. Without a waiver, the metro salaried category mix earns back the fee from about ₹47,500 a month of total spend.
After fees and caps, best-case redemption. Use your own spend.
Our take: A premium travel card: ₹4,999 joining and annual fee, reversed if you spend more than ₹8 lakh a year (HSBC's multi-card MITC words this as spend on the primary card). It pays 4 points per ₹100 on airlines, travel aggregators and foreign-currency spends, sharing a 50,000-point monthly cap before reverting to 2, and 2 points per ₹100 on other eligible spends. HSBC publishes no rupee value per point, so our ₹0.50 is an estimate (₹0.25 conservative). Fuel, rent, utilities, insurance and wallets earn nothing, rent carries a 1% fee, and 6 domestic and 4 international lounge visits a year are included.
From the card's terms: strengths
- 6 domestic lounge visits a year
Reward rates and caps
| Spend category | Points per ₹100 | Value per ₹100 | Cap | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flights & hotels | 4 | ₹2 | 50000 pts monthly | 4 points per ₹100 on airlines and travel aggregators (MCC 3000-3299, 4511, 4111, 4131, 4722, 4723), capped at 50,000 points per month then reverts to 2 per ₹100 (official footnote). Hotels earn base 2. |
| International (foreign currency) | 4 | ₹2 | 50000 pts monthly | 4 points per ₹100 on foreign currency transactions; shares the 50,000 point monthly cap (official). |
| Fuel, Rent, Bills & utilities | 0 | ₹0 | No cap found | No points on fuel, rent (MCC 6513), utilities (4900), insurance, education/government, wallets, jewellery, financial institutions, tax (official list). Rent carries 1% processing fee. |
| Everything else, Amazon, Flipkart, Other online shopping, Groceries, Entertainment & OTT, Dining & food delivery | 2 | ₹1 | No cap found | 2 points per ₹100 on all other eligible spend, no cap (official). |
Point value: Points transfer 1:1 to most airline/hotel partners (some 2:1; Shangri-La 5:1); no official rupee value. ₹0.50 is an estimate; gift-card route value not stated.
Excluded or reduced
- Fuel, utilities, rent, insurance, education and government, e-wallets, jewellery, financial institutions, money transfers, tax payments, bail and bond earn no points
- Rent: 1% processing fee plus GST
- Cap: 50,000 accelerated points per month (combined primary and add-on)
Spend milestones
- Spend ₹12,00,000 a year: 10,000 bonus reward points on spending above ₹12 lakh a year (official) (about ₹5,000)
- Spend ₹1,00,000 a year: 3,000 bonus points on ₹1 lakh spend within 90 days of card opening (new cards applied before 31 Dec 2026) (about ₹1,500)
Other benefits
- Welcome: On ₹25,000 spend in first 30 days (via HSBC India app): ₹1,000 cashback, ₹3,000 PostCard voucher, 3 months EazyDiner Prime; ₹250 Amazon voucher on video-KYC application.
- 15% off flights/hotels at Yatra, EaseMyTrip, Paytm Travel, Cleartrip (promo codes)
- 4 golf rounds and 12 lessons a year
- Purchase protection up to USD 20,000
- Forex markup 3.5% (official MITC)
Eligibility
Salaried income ₹6 lakh/year, self-employed ₹12 lakh/year; age 18-65 salaried, 25-65 self-employed; select cities (official).
Compare
Related guides
- How to read a credit card MITC
- How annual fee waivers work
- Airport lounge access on credit cards
- Paying rent with a credit card
- Fees on rent, wallet, utility, fuel and education spends
- Forex markup and using a card abroad
- How reward points work and what they are worth
- Credit card devaluations and what to do
FAQ
What is the annual fee of the HSBC TravelOne Credit Card?
₹4,999 a year, waived at ₹8,00,000 annual spend. Fees exclude 18% GST.
How do HSBC TravelOne Credit Card rewards work?
1% base, up to 2% on international (foreign currency). Points transfer 1:1 to most airline/hotel partners (some 2:1; Shangri-La 5:1); no official rupee value. ₹0.50 is an estimate; gift-card route value not stated.
Does the HSBC TravelOne Credit Card give airport lounge access?
Domestic: 6 domestic airport lounge visits per year (official page; footnote conditions not seen). International: 4 international lounge visits per year (LoungeKey).
Who is the HSBC TravelOne Credit Card best suited to?
A premium travel card: ₹4,999 joining and annual fee, reversed if you spend more than ₹8 lakh a year (HSBC's multi-card MITC words this as spend on the primary card). It pays 4 points per ₹100 on airlines, travel aggregators and foreign-currency spends, sharing a 50,000-point monthly cap before reverting to 2, and 2 points per ₹100 on other eligible spends. HSBC publishes no rupee value per point, so our ₹0.50 is an estimate (₹0.25 conservative). Fuel, rent, utilities, insurance and wallets earn nothing, rent carries a 1% fee, and 6 domestic and 4 international lounge visits a year are included. The ₹4,999 annual fee is waived at ₹8,00,000 a year of eligible spend, about ₹66,700 a month. Of our 6 profiles, 1 clear it; on first card, light spender, metro salaried, family household, online shopper, rent-heavy you would pay the fee, which is 67% to 313% (₹1,596 to ₹7,488) of what those profiles earn before the fee. On our 6 profiles it nets from −₹3,403 (first card, light spender) to ₹25,280 (frequent flyer), equal to −1.9% to 1.4% of spend across the profiles.
Sources
- HSBC TravelOne Credit Card official page official fetched 2026-10-29
- HSBC MITC for TravelOne (official PDF) official fetched 2026-10-29
- HSBC TravelOne rewards redemption (official) official fetched 2026-10-29
- HSBC TravelOne milestone offer T&C (official PDF) official fetched 2026-10-29
- CardAdvisor HSBC TravelOne aggregator fetched 2026-10-29
Not financial advice. Figures are estimates from published terms and may be outdated; confirm with HSBC India before you apply. Methodology.