Disclosure. No link on this page earns us a commission today: buttons go to the issuer's own pages. Any paid link will be labelled, and rankings never depend on one. Details

Add-on credit cards: liability, fees, shared limits

Updated 30 Oct 2026 · by SwipeWise editorial team · how we write

An add-on (supplementary) card is a second card on your account, usually for a family member. The RBI’s rules fix a few things for every issuer. Everything else, such as the fee, the rewards and the lounge access, is set by each bank in its own documents, and the documents differ.

What the RBI directions fix

The RBI Master Direction on credit and debit cards (2022) defines an add-on credit card as a supplementary card to the primary card, issued to persons with a predefined relationship with the primary cardholder, “within the credit limits and liability of the latter”. It also says:

  • Add-on cards are issued only to persons the principal cardholder specifically identifies, “with the clear understanding that the liability will be that of the principal cardholder” (paragraph 7(e)).
  • In the RBI’s FAQs, liability for dues rests solely with the principal cardholder and not with the add-on cardholder.
  • For retail cards, consent (for example for activation) is sought from the principal cardholder, not the add-on holder. For blocking a card, either the actual cardholder or the principal cardholder can start the request.
  • The MITC must state joining fees and annual fees for the primary cardholder and separately for add-on cardholders (paragraph 30(a)).

The directions do not say whether an add-on holder gets a credit record of their own. The MITCs we read do not say either.

What issuer documents say

Issuer / cardAdd-on feeShared limit?Spends towards waiver or milestoneSource
HDFC Bank (MITC, all cards)“Lifetime Free”Yes, same limit as primaryInfinia continuation test: ₹18 lakh “Primary + Add-ons” per financial yearHDFC MITC
HDFC Infinia (lounge)See aboveYesPriority Pass membership for primary and add-on holdersHDFC MITC
Axis Magnus, Select, Atlas, ReserveNilYes; any limit change on the primary applies to add-onsNot stated in the MITCAxis MITC
Axis Primus1 card complimentary; then ₹25,000 each (cards issued after 31 Jul 2024), up to 4YesNot statedAxis MITC
ICICI Sapphiro, Rubyx₹199 a year (from 15 Nov 2024)Not stated in the part we readNot stated; the MITC says “total spends on the credit card”ICICI MITC
ICICI Times Black₹3,500Not statedNot statedICICI MITC
ICICI Emeralde Private (and Emeralde)NilNot statedNot statedICICI MITC
HSBC Live+NilNot statedAnnual fee reversed if eligible spend across primary and add-on cards exceeds ₹2,00,000 in the anniversary yearHSBC Live+ MITC
HSBC TravelOneNilNot statedMITC fee table says spends “on the primary card” (₹8,00,000)HSBC MITC
IndusInd LegendNilNot statedWaiver tests include combined spends of primary and all add-on cards (IndusInd’s note on spend-based waivers)IndusInd MITC
Standard Chartered SmartNot stated in the documents we readNot statedCashback caps apply at client level, primary and supplementary together, from 21 Aug 2024SC Smart T&C
SBI CardMITC says there “may be separate fees” for additional cards; no figure givenYes, same limits as primaryNot statedSBI Card MITC

“Not stated” means the document we opened is silent, not that the answer is no.

  • Default. ICICI’s MITC says the bank can forward a default report to credit bureaus, and that the card terms apply to supplementary holders as well. SBI Card’s MITC likewise says its terms apply to add-on holders.
  • Lost or closed cards. HDFC says the add-on card is invalid once the primary card is reported lost, and that if an add-on card is reported lost the primary account and other add-ons are invalidated. SBI Card says closing the account on the cardholder’s written request terminates all cards, including add-ons.
  • Cashback caps. Standard Chartered’s Smart terms carry an older line saying caps are per card. A later line, effective 21 Aug 2024, makes the cap client-level, primary and supplementary together.
  • Lounge. Of the documents opened, only HDFC’s MITC states add-on lounge access (Infinia Priority Pass).

Worked example: add-on spend and a waiver

The HSBC Live+ MITC says the ₹999 annual fee, including GST, is fully reversed if total eligible spend across the primary and add-on cards in the anniversary year exceeds ₹2,00,000. The spends below are illustrative; the threshold is from the document.

  • Primary card eligible spend: ₹1,35,000
  • Add-on card eligible spend: ₹70,000
  • Combined: ₹1,35,000 + ₹70,000 = ₹2,05,000
  • Threshold: ₹2,00,000. ₹2,05,000 is ₹5,000 above it, so the ₹999 is reversed.

Without the add-on spend, ₹1,35,000 is ₹65,000 short. Only “eligible spend” counts. HSBC’s other MITC, which covers Live+ and TravelOne together, words the thresholds as spend “on the primary card” (₹2,00,000 for Live+, ₹8,00,000 for TravelOne). The two HSBC documents therefore differ, so the counting rule has to be confirmed in the document issued with the card. The annual fee waiver guide covers exclusions.

What to check in the MITC

  • The add-on fee row, as the RBI requires it to be listed separately.
  • Whether the limit is shared, and whether the add-on holder can have a sub-limit (none of the documents above mention one).
  • Whether the waiver or milestone wording says “primary”, “primary and add-on” or “the card”.
  • Whether lounge access is stated for add-on holders.
  • What happens to the add-on card when the primary card is closed or blocked.

How to read a credit card MITC explains where these items sit.

Limits of this guide

Terms change, and add-on rules for cards not in the table were not checked. Card pages: Axis Magnus, HDFC Infinia Metal, ICICI Sapphiro, HSBC Live+, IndusInd Legend. For limits, see how banks set a credit limit; for spend against fees and rewards, use the calculator.

Sources

All accessed 2026-10-30.

Try it with your own numbers. Open the calculator

Keep reading